Writings: Black To Gold


Sometimes I can’t sleep at night because there is something in my mind trying to get out. I’m not an avid poet, but for some reason these things plague my mind and pester me until I get them down and out on paper. Sometimes they bug even after that, asking to be shared. I’ve thought about quieting them, but I’d have to figure out how they’re talking first. It’s not natural for ideas to talk.

This one has been dancing around for weeks. Finally, one night, everything just clicked together. I wrote it down, looked at it the next morning and added what needed to be added.

BLACK AND GOLD

When our black turns to gold,

As fire sparkles the sky,

The night becomes light.

When our black changes into gold,

Will you remember me?

How you would hold me,

and I would fly?

How you could scare off the demons,

And hide the ones inside?

When our black changes into gold,

Your my hero,

And through all this time,

You’re always mine hero.

When our black changes into gold,

If Midas smiles down on our misfortune,

Or Hades sweeps us away,

You can bet I couldn’t do it without you.

I love you anyways,

I love you just the same.

The pain can wait,

Cause I need you to make it better.

And that’s it. For now.

If you’re not familiar with American military traditions, let me explain. When someone is deployed or goes “over seas” to serve their military branch, their family gets a flag to hang in their window. One star means one serviceman, two stars mean two service men, etc. These stars are black. However, when a solider dies while in service, the family gets a new flag. This time flag replaces a black star with a gold star.

I remember being a little girl and having one of these hanging in our window. My grandmas’ neighbor had a fag with two stars. One day, while driving by I noticed one of the stars was now gold. I’m happy to say my star is still black. I am very thankful for our service men and women.
ServiceFlag1ServiceFlag2

Leave a Reply

