Play Reviews Too?


I’m taking an online Intro to Theater class this semester. As with any theater class I have to see plays. For the first two writing assignments I had to watch a Shakespeare play. I didn’t want to watch Hamlet again (Sorry Mr Gibson) and I’ve seen Midsummer Nights Dream so many times I can no longer see the humor in it. I was talking to my mom about it and she suggested Taming of the Shrew. Apparently there’s a really good version with Elizabeth Taylor somewhere out there. We didn’t watch that one.

A couple nights ago, we were gearing up for a movie night. We had “decided” on about 3 different movies. Finally, my buddy suggested that we just go ahead and watch Taming of the Shrew. I got the BBC John Cleese version from my friendly neighborhood university’s library, which was due the next day anyways. When the movie started I was wondering what we got ourselves into. There were a couple guys and one was talking really fast. It only took a few minutes before we were all laughing. There’s a part in the very beginning where the shrew storms off and hits a small person. Right after, he puts his dukes up and starts following after her. My roommates and I are always shouting “Where are my slippaaaaaaaaaaahs?” This movie really is a comedy! Watch it! Love it! And I’m not just saying this because I love John Cleese. It really is worth watching.

Aubz out.

 

Leave a Reply

